3 Partners In Shopping, Nana, Mommy & Sissy

Thanks for stopping by!

My Button

My Button

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher Book Review


It was a well-laid plan--but it wasn't her plan . . .
It's all her grandmother's fault. For the last few months, Abigail Stoltzfus has helped her father with his genealogical research, hoping that breaking through a client's brick wall would also break his melancholy. But now her intrusive grandmother has set her sights on marrying off Abigail and insists she come to Stoney Ridge, where there is a plethora of eligible bachelors. 

Except that Mammi is mistaken. There are no eligible bachelors in Stoney Ridge, barring one, and he's all wrong. Dane Glick has the wrong last name and the wrong relatives--including the bishop who is at odds over a church matter with Abigail's uncle, minister David Stoltzfus. 

As the conflict grows, setting family against family, it's becoming clear that the path to a solution may lead to a Quieting--a removal of a church leader. But for which one? And when Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem--but will it create another?

Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author whose most recent novels include The Imposter, Anna's Crossing, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and follow Suzanne on Twitter @suzannewfisher.

The Author

  1. Suzanne Woods Fisher
    © Dan Davis Photography

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of The Letters, The Calling, the Lancaster County Secrets series, and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the...


"Fisher is a talented author who knows what readers have come to expect from her novels and always gives them more."
RT Book Reviews, 4-star review
"Fisher's deliciously heartwarming contemporary Amish romance, the second in the Bishop's Family series (after The Imposter), picks up a few months after the first left off and is told from a variety of viewpoints. . . . This fascinating glimpse into a closed culture explores the depth and breadth of its members' commonalities and differences. The deftly written tale of life, love, and faith is filled with a delightful cast of characters. "
Publishers Weekly, starred review

My review;

"The Quieting" by author Suzanne Woods Fisher is a great story of two people that have met each other and like others have obstacles in their way. Dane Glick is not an approved man, by Amish standards.  Abigail Stotzfus's family does not like his family and it is felt the same on the other side. This is another book in author Suzanne Woods Fisher's series. I really like this series and the characters are believable. I couldn't wait to finish the book to see if love would prevail. I give this book a 5/5. I was given this book for a review by Revell Publishing. These are my opinions.

No comments:

Post a Comment