3 Partners In Shopping, Nana, Mommy & Sissy

Thanks for stopping by!

My Button

My Button

Friday, September 22, 2017

The Bell Tolls by R. Franklin James Virtual Book Tour

The Bell Tolls (A Hollis Morgan Mystery) by R. Franklin James

The Bell Tolls (A Hollis Morgan Mystery) Traditional Mystery 5th in Series Camel Press (June 1, 2017) Paperback: 256 pages ISBN-13: 978-1603812177 E-BOOK ASIN: B071Z883NN
Hollis Morgan has survived imprisonment, received a pardon and persevered to finally become a probate attorney. Tough as she is, her newest case will further test her mettle. She discovers her client, Matthias Bell, is a deceased blackmailer whose last wish was to return the damaging documents letting his victims off the hook. It falls to Hollis to give them the good news. But it becomes apparent that Bell was murdered, and the victims of “Bell’s tolls” are now suspects.
Hollis’ white-collar criminal past has left her with keen survival instincts. A gifted liar, she knows a liar when she sees one. A lot of people in this case are lying and one is a killer.
On top of that, she’s also representing a dying stripper, a wealthy widow whose estranged daughter spurns her attempts at reconciliation, but whose husband sees the potential inheritance as mending all wounds.
Clients aside, Hollis is defensive and wary. Her mother, who hasn’t spoken to her for years, needs a kidney, and Hollis is a match, but neither are ready to put away the past. With Hollis’ fiancĂ© and emotional support off on an undercover mission for Homeland Security, she must count on her own survival instincts. She is swept along on an emotional roller coaster as her absent love and her family’s coldness take their own toll.
Work is her salvation. The specter of a killer keeps her focused. Hollis has always had to rely on her wits, but now she finds that others who don’t have her well-being in mind are relying on them as well.
Book 5 in the Hollis Morgan Mystery series, which began with The Fallen Angels Book Club.

About The Author

R. Franklin James grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and graduated from the University of California at Berkeley. From there she cultivated a different type of writing—legislation and public policy. After serving as Deputy Mayor for the City of Los Angeles, under millionaire Richard Riordan, she went back to her first love—writing, and in 2013 her debut novel, THE FALLEN ANGELS BOOK CLUB was published by Camel Press. Her second book in The Hollis Morgan Mystery Series, STICKS & STONES, was followed by THE RETURN OF THE FALLEN ANGELS BOOK CLUB, and THE TRADE LIST. THE BELL TOLLS, book five was released in June 2017. R. Franklin James lives in Northern California with her husband. Author Links                 Webpage: www.rfranklinjames.com                 Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34518818-the-bell-tolls?from_search=true                 Twitter: @RFJBooks                 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RFranklinJames Purchase Links Amazon  B&N  kobo Books in This Series

Tour Participants September 20 –  Varietats2010 – REVIEW, GIVEAWAY
September 20 – Books,Dreams,Life – SPOTLIGHT  
September 21 – Celticlady's Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 21 – Cozy Up With Kathy – INTERVIEW
September 22 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW
September 23 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! - REVIEW, GIVEAWAY
September 23 – A Holland Reads – GUEST POST
September 24 – The Editing Pen – GUEST POST
September 25 – A Blue Million Books – INTERVIEW
September 26 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – INTERVIEW
September 27 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST, GIVEAWAY
September 28 – Maureen's Musings – REVIEW
September 29 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST
Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

My review;
"The Bell Tolls" by author R. Franklin James is Book 5 in her series called A Hollis Morgan Mystery series. Hollis Morgan is now a probate attorney. Matthais Bell is a client who happens to be already dead. He was a man who had victims that would all have wanted him dead because he was blackmailing people. They do not have be scared anymore though because he has given them the evidence, the problem is that he was killed anyway. While Hollis is talking to them she thinks that one of them is his killer. Hollis believes that some if not all are lying to her. While she is trying to solve this crime she has family problems to deal with. This book keeps you interested while you are reading it. I really liked it. I give this book a 4/5. I was given this book for a review and these are my opinions.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for the great review! Books in The Hollis Morgan Mystery Series are stand alones, but you may want to go back and read how Hollis got on her path in THE FALLEN ANGELS BOOK CLUB. Book six in the series: THE IDENTITY THIEF will be released in June 2018.