3 Partners In Shopping, Nana, Mommy & Sissy

Thanks for stopping by!

My button

1055760-Royalty-Free-Vector-Clip-Art-Illustration-Of-A-Stick-Man-Family-Holding-Hands-In-A-Home-1

Friday, September 2, 2016

A Haven On Orchard Lane by Lawana Blackwell Book Review







About

An urgent escape . . . a wounded heart . . .
Will Charlotte find the solace she longs for at the cottage on Orchard Lane?
Famed actress Charlotte Ward stepped away from the Victorian London stage five years ago. Now in desperate circumstances, she tries to restart her career--only to experience a complete collapse. Against her better judgment, Charlotte's estranged daughter, Rosalind, comes to her mother's rescue and moves her to a quiet English coastal village where her mother can evade the gossip columnists, at least for a time.

Charlotte is grateful to re-establish even tenuous family ties with Rosalind. As one with regrets over her own romantic past, she's happy to see love blossom for her daughter. For Rosalind, however, it's time away from teaching, and now she must care for the mother who wasn't there for her. And what could possibly be more complicated than romance?

But there can be no permanent escape from the threats of recent months. As the privacy they seek is threatened, mother and daughter must make some difficult decisions--ones that jeopardize those they care about most.

Beloved Author Lawana Blackwell Returns With a Charming and Memorable Tale!

The Author

  1. Lawana Blackwell
    © JCP Portraits

    Lawana Blackwell

    Lawana Blackwell has thirteen published novels to her credit, many of them set in the English countryside of the 19th century. She and her husband live in Frisco, Texas.
    Continue reading about Lawana Blackwell

Reviews

"Subtly smart wit and gentle wisdom grace each chapter in this long-anticipated novel from beloved author Blackwell. Under her talented pen, each word richly placed, the Victorian setting flourishes and the characters breathe with vibrant life...Well worth the wait, this story--the characters, the setting, the dialogue--reminds us why Blackwell's voice was so deservedly missed."
RT Book Reviews Top Pick
"A beautiful Victorian tale of hope and redemption. Charming, engaging characters and a small-town coziness result in a delightful novel that warms the heart. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Kate Morton will be enthralled."
Library Journal starred review
"Set in Victorian England, this novel is one that readers of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen will love. The theme of God's provision runs throughout this sweet tale of love and forgiveness."
CBA Retailers+Resources

My review;

"A Haven On Orchard Lane" by author Lawana Blackwell is a historical romance set in London. Charlotte Ward used to be a wonderful actress who has not acted for 5 years. She has no money left now, so she wants to start to act again. Her daughter Rosalind comes and tries to help her mother and takes her to a small town to relax away from it all. They have a very rocky relationship. Rosalind starts to feel trapped by her mother and is getting resentful of their situation. But, will mother and daughter have a safe future? I really enjoyed these ladies' stories. I give this book a 4/5. I was given this book by Bethany House Publishers and all opinions are mine.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ad1